And the Honor Goes to…

By on October 17th, 2019

Since 2005 the Michigan Political History Society (MPHS) has been honoring those who have contributed to Michigan’s political past.  This year we pay tribute to all Past and Present Female Legislators.  

There are currently 53 women serving in Michigan’s House and Senate; the highest number in Michigan history. That number doesn’t take into account Michigan’s statewide officers Governor Gretchen Whitmer, Secretary of State Jocelyn Benson, Attorney General Dana Nessel nor the women representing our state in Washington, D.C.  One wonders if Michigan’s first female legislator, Grand Rapids Senator Eva McCall (1921-1922) understood the impact of the trail she blazed so long ago. 

Formed in 1993 by Sharman Moore and the late Kevin Kelly, the Michigan Political History Society serves to recognize the need to appreciate the past to better envision the future for our great state.  It was the book ‘Three Bullets Sealed his Lips’ passed on by Tom Plasman which inspired the organization’s creation. 

The MPHS is not about politics as a divider.  It inspires a greater knowledge of our state’s political history and how politics has played a role in policymaking. It encourages education, cultivating working relationships, common foundations for political leaders, educators, public administrators and other interested persons. It fosters bipartisan communication and mutual respect and civility.  

As Board President, I am thrilled to be part of an organization paying tribute to this year’s honorees and their many years of service.  It’s often said that ‘knowledge is power’ and there is no greater way to appreciate where we are today than to understand how far and where we’ve come from. 

This year’s tribute reflects that knowledge with four decades of female legislators participating in our program. Former Legislator Lana Pollack will moderate a panel of five female legislators including Sharon Gire/invited (D), Clinton Township (1987-1998), Deb Cherry (D), Burton (1995-2000 House, 2003-2010 Senate), Judy Emmons (R), Sheridan (2003-2009 House, 2011-2019 Senate), Amanda Price (R), Holland (2010-2016 House) and Rep. Sarah Anthony (D), Lansing (current 2019-2020).

I hope you’ll join the MPHS and others on November 6th at the Kellogg Center to pay tribute to the women who have and continue to be a voice for Michigan.  Sponsorship and ticket information can be found at

Dan Papineau

is Board President of the Michigan Political History Society

Leave a Reply

1 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
1 Comment authors
Susy Avery Recent comment authors
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
Susy Avery
Susy Avery

This will be a great evening. Long overdue to recognize all of the terrific women who have served in the Michigan legislature!

Dome Magazine © 2022

Web Design by Douglas Marketing Group